Cookies on oxfam

We use cookies to ensure that you have the best experience on our website. If you continue browsing, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all our cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more Close

Media calendar

Please find below our calendar of media stories and reports for the next few months. Do get in touch with the relevant contact if you'd like any more information or call the press office on +44 (0)1865 472498.

For the latest updates follow us on Twitter: @oxfamgbpress

December 2016

5-12 Dec: Hollywood star Djimon Hounsou travelling with Oxfam to north-east Nigeria to see the impact of the conflict with Boko Haram and military operations to counter them. In northern Nigeria over six million people are severely hungry and 2.6 million people have fled their homes because of violent attacks. For more information please contact Christina Corbett: +234 (0) 802 896 8039 / +234 (0) 907 461 7371 / ccorbett@oxfam.org.uk

7 Dec: Sanctuary in the Senedd. Refugees and asylum seekers living in Wales will share their experiences of resettlement in Wales with politicians. Annual event supported by Oxfam Cymru as part of the Welsh Refugee Coalition. For information, case studies and interviews contact Deio Gruffydd: +44 (0)2920 803 292 / +44 (0)7887 571687 / dgruffydd1@oxfam.org.uk

12 Dec: Oxfam report on world’s worst tax havens. On the day the LuxLeaks whistleblowers’ appeal trial begins in Luxembourg, new research analyses corporate tax rates, secrecy and other criteria to highlight the impact of tax dodging on fighting poverty. For more information please contact Melanie Kramers +44 (0)7825 088894 / mkramers1@oxfam.org.uk

13 Dec: Aberystwyth pupils unveil Refugees Welcome mural: On the first anniversary of Syrian refugees resettling in Wales Ysgol Gymraeg Aberystwyth Primary School unveil a mural with messages from pupils and local residents. Organised by Oxfam Cymru. For more information please contact Deio Gruffydd: +44 (0)2920 803 292 / +44 (0)7887 571687 / dgruffydd1@oxfam.org.uk

Dec TBC: Last month of 1 Million Hours campaign to get the nation's youth volunteering. Oxfam is one of the BBC Radio 1's campaign's charity partners. Case studies of Oxfam volunteers and people supported through our work are available. Please contact Emma Fabian: +44 (0)1865 472193 / +44 (0)7825 503 274 / efabian1@oxfam.org.uk

Dec TBC: Report on resettlement of Syrian refugees:  New report on the numbers of vulnerable refugees resettled by countries against the target of 10 percent by the end of 2016. For more information contact Sarah Grainger: +44 (0)1865 472089, +44 (0) 7810 181514 / sgrainger1@oxfam.org.uk

Dec TBC: Oxfam launches new app to connect supporters with the projects they fund. For more information please contact Kai Tabacek: +44 (0)7584 265077 / ktabacek1@oxfam.org.uk

January 2017

5 Jan: New report on how volunteering boosts job prospects and professional opportunities, as Oxfam launches campaign to recruit more volunteers to Give a Shift in an Oxfam shop. For more information and case studies of Oxfam volunteers please contact Gemma Parkes +44 (0)7979 111427 / gparkes1@oxfam.org.uk

16 Jan: Oxfam releases its annual report on wealth, inequality and poverty ahead of the World Economic Forum in Davos. For more information, interviews and case studies please contact Melanie Kramers +44 (0)7825 088894 / mkramers1@oxfam.org.uk

February 2017

Feb TBC: Oxfam publishes research on the thousands of boys and men missing from communities caught up in conflict with Boko Haram and military operations to counter them. More than nine million people in Nigeria, Niger, Chad and Cameroon are in desperate need of emergency aid and there are alarming levels of human rights abuses and forced recruitment of young children. For more information please contact Ian Bray: +44 (0)1865 472498 / +44 (0)7721 461339 / ibray@oxfam.org.uk

14 Feb: Valentine’s Day. Stories of love and hope from Oxfam around the world and a range of Valentine’s cards on sale in Oxfam shops. For more information please contact: Emma Fabian: +44 (0)1865 472193 / +44 (0)7825 503 274 / efabian1@oxfam.org.uk

16 Feb: London Fashion Week: Oxfam stages fashion show featuring celebrity models dressed in clothes donated to Oxfam shops, showing how Oxfam fashion helps to fight poverty. For more information please contact: Emma Fabian: +44 (0)1865 472193 / +44 (0)7825 503 274 / efabian1@oxfam.org.uk

ENDS

680x150

Contact our 24/7 press hotline on: +44 (0)1865 472498 or email 
media.unit@oxfam.org.uk