Cookies on oxfam

We use cookies to ensure that you have the best experience on our website. If you continue browsing, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all our cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more Close

Media calendar

Please find below our calendar of media stories and reports for the next few months. Do get in touch with the relevant contact if you'd like any more information or call the press office on +44 (0)1865 472498.

For the latest updates follow us on Twitter: @oxfamgbpress

February 2017

Early Feb: Criminal Finance Bill report stage. MPs will vote on an anti-tax avoidance proposal to require Overseas Territories to introduce public registers of company ownership. Oxfam can comment on the impact of tax dodging on poor countries. Contact Meg Pruce: +44 (0)1865 472240 / +44 (0)7824 824359 / mpruce1@oxfam.org.uk

7-9 Feb: Yemen - High Court Judicial Review into whether UK Government's arms exports to Saudi Arabia's bombing campaign in Yemen breach British and European laws. For information contact Ian Bray: +44 (0)1865 472289 / +44 (0)7721 461 339 / ibray@oxfam.org.uk

14 Feb: Valentine’s Day. Stories of love and hope from Oxfam around the world and a range of Valentine’s cards on sale in Oxfam shops. For more information please contact: Emma Fabian: +44 (0)1865 472193 / +44 (0)7825 503 274 / efabian1@oxfam.org.uk

16 Feb: London Fashion Week: Oxfam stages fashion show featuring celebrity models dressed in clothes donated to Oxfam shops, showing how Oxfam fashion helps to fight poverty. For more information please contact Emma Fabian: +44 (0)1865 472193 / +44 (0)7825 503 274 / efabian1@oxfam.org.uk and Lys Holdoway: +44 (0)7721 461342 / lholdoway@oxfam.org.uk

20 Feb: Oxfam supporters visit Kenya to see first-hand the impact of their donations. Interview a teacher, an IT manager and a retiree about their experience witnessing how their support for Oxfam is helping to lift people out of extreme poverty. Contact Gemma Parkes: +44 (0)7979 111427 / gparkes1@oxfam.org.uk

27 Feb: Oxfam publishes anti-poverty plan for Greater Manchester. Oxfam’s blueprint for the new mayor, published ahead of the May election, looks at how to fight inequality and poverty in the city region. Contact Serena Tramonti: +44 (0)7825 780651/ +44 (0)161 234 2922 / stramonti@oxfam.org.uk

Date tbc: Oxfam publishes research on the thousands of boys and men missing from communities caught up in conflict with Boko Haram and military operations to counter them. More than nine million people in Nigeria, Niger, Chad and Cameroon are in desperate need of emergency aid and there are alarming levels of human rights abuses and forced recruitment of young children. For more information please contact Ian Bray: +44 (0)1865 472498 / +44 (0)7721 461339 / ibray@oxfam.org.uk

Date tbc: Oxfam publishes report on rules around refugees reuniting with family in the UK. For more information contact Sarah Grainger: +44 (0)7810 181514 / sgrainger1@oxfam.org.uk

March 2017

Early March: Oxfam launches report on women's inequality at work ahead of International Women’s Day. For more information please contact: Sophie Bowell / +44 (0) 7810 814980 / sbowell@oxfam.org.uk

8 March: International Women's Day. Oxfam will organise a range of activities including a comedy gig in central London with all-female line-up. For more information please contact Lys Holdoway: +44 (0)7721 461342 / lholdoway@oxfam.org.uk

8 March: Spring Budget. Oxfam spokespeople available for comment on the impact of policies affecting poverty in the UK and abroad. For more information please contact: Sarah Dransfield: +44 (0)7884 114825 / sdransfield@oxfam.org.uk

14 March: Oxfam launches research into tax practices of banks. For more information please contact Meg Pruce: +44 (0)7824 824359 / mpruce1@oxfam.org.uk

15 March: Sixth anniversary of the start of the war in Syria. Oxfam spokespeople will be available for comment. For more information please contact Jill Moody: +44 (0)7557 077008 / jmoody1@oxfam.org.uk

17-18 March: G20 Finance Ministers’ Meeting, Baden-Baden. Oxfam spokespeople available for comment on the impact of tax and economic policies on fighting poverty. Please contact Melanie Kramers: +44 (0)7825 088894 / mkramers1@oxfam.org.uk

22 March: World Water Day. Around the world, Oxfam is helping to keep millions of people healthy when disaster strikes by providing clean water and toilets. Photo case studies available. For more information contact: Kai Tabacek: +44 (0)7584 265077 / ktabacek1@oxfam.org.uk

Date tbc: Oxfam publishes report on the use of water as a weapon of war in Syria. For more information contact Sarah Grainger: +44 (0)7810 181514 / sgrainger1@oxfam.org.uk

Date tbc: Forbes releases its annual billionaires list. Oxfam spokespeople available to comment on how the gap between the richest and the rest is holding back the fight against poverty. Please contact Melanie Kramers: +44 (0)7825 088894 / mkramers1@oxfam.org.uk

Date tbc: Oxfam launches call for volunteer festival stewards to be part of the UK's most popular music events, including Glastonbury. Media products available – for more information please contact Gemma Parkes: +44 (0)7979 111427 / gparkes1@oxfam.org.uk

April 2017

5 April: Sotheby’s auction artwork from Oxfam's artist Christmas cards as part of its Made in Britain sale. The artworks are by Grayson Perry CBE, Adam Dant and Rob & Roberta Smith. Contact Gemma Parkes: +44 (0)7979 111427 / gparkes1@oxfam.org.uk

Early April: OECD publishes annual overseas aid spending figures. Oxfam spokespeople available for comment on how UK aid is helping to raise living standards for the world’s poorest people. Contact: Meg Pruce +44 (0)1865 472240 / +44 (0)7824 824359 / mpruce1@oxfam.org.uk

17 April: Iraq - six months since the start of the offensive to retake Mosul from ISIS. Oxfam is supporting thousands of people affected by the conflict, providing clean water, shelter and toilets. Oxfam spokespeople available. Contact Kai Tabacek: +44 (0)7584 265 077 / ktabacek1@oxfam.org.uk

21-23 April: World Bank Spring Meetings, Washington. Finance leaders and politicians will discuss the global economy, poverty eradication and aid effectiveness. Oxfam spokespeople available to comment. Please contact Melanie Kramers: +44 (0)7825 088894 / mkramers1@oxfam.org.uk

29 April: Rumble in the Jumble celebrity jumble sale: Oxfam's massive annual jumble sale with exclusive items donated by celebrity supporters takes place in Oval Space, London, raising money for Oxfam’s work fighting poverty. For more information please contact Rachel Edwards: +44 (0)7979 111 400 / RaEdwards@oxfam.org.uk


ENDS

680x150

Contact our 24/7 press hotline on: +44 (0)1865 472498 or email 
media.unit@oxfam.org.uk