Media calendar

December 2013 - February 2014

December

3: Downton Abbey Star Michelle Dockery launches Oxfam's winter appeal to raise money for Syrian refugees. Embargoed until Tuesday 3rd December. Contact: Claire Wilkinson on +44 (0)1865 473648 / +44 (0)7825 196769 / cwilkinson@oxfam.org.uk

5: Autumn Statement 2013. Oxfam will respond to any announcements by the Chancellor on aid, green levies and UK poverty. Contact Jon Slater +44 (0)1865 472249 / +44 (0)7876 476403 / jslater@oxfam.org.uk or Jonaid Jilani on +44 (0)1865 472193 / +44 (0)7810 181514 / jjilani@oxfam.org.uk

7/8: Philippines typhoon, one month on. Oxfam will publish a briefing note on the response and what's needed for the future, one month after the worst natural disaster to hit the Philippines in years. Oxfam will be able to facilitate trips to affected areas. Contact: Sarah Dransfield (in the UK) on +44 (0)1865 472269 / +44(0)7767 085636 / sdransfield@oxfam.org.uk or Ian Bray (in Cebu) on +63 916 674 9742 / ibray@oxfam.org.uk

12: Oxfam reaction to expected EU Energy Ministers deal on biofuels food for fuel cap. For details please contact: Georgette Thomas, +44 (0)7824 503108 / gthomas@oxfam.org.uk

13: Boxer Amir Khan will help Oxfam celebrate its 40th anniversary of working in Pakistan Oxfam has helped pull millions of people out of poverty in Pakistan in the last 40 years. Contact Jonaid Jilani on +44 (0)1865 472193 / +44 (0)7810 181514 / jjilani@oxfam.org.uk

26: Launch of new fundraising campaign: For details contact Lucy Brinicombe +44 (0)7786110054 / lbrinicombe@oxfam.org.uk or Claire Wilkinson, +44 (0)7825196769 / cwilkinson@oxfam.org.uk

January

w/c 6th: Report on how people in eastern DR Congo view their security given long-running conflict and violence in the region.  Government soldiers, armed rebels, police, and civilian authorities are all vying for the right to exploit local communities and extort money or goods from communities in the east of the country, pushing people further into poverty.  Report based on surveys. For more information contact:  Georgette Thomas, +44 (0)7824 503108 / gthomas@oxfam.org.uk

22-25: World Economic Forum annual meeting, Davos-Klosters, Switzerland. Oxfam will publish a research paper on how inequality is undermining democratic and accountable government and will have spokespeople available. Contact: Sarah Dransfield on +44 (0)1865 472269 / +44(0)7767 085636 / sdransfield@oxfam.org.uk

24-31: African Union Summit, Addis: Launch of the Year of Agriculture and Food Security. The next Leadership Council of the New Alliance is also likely to take place. For information contact Lucy Brinicombe +44 (0)7786 110054 / lbrinicombe@oxfam.org.uk

Jan (tbc): Global Food Index: Oxfam will be launching a global snapshot on the worst and best places to eat. For details contact Lucy Brinicombe +44 (0)7786 110054 / lbrinicombe@oxfam.org.uk

Jan/Feb (tbc) Oxfam report: how tax dodging is hurting poor people in the UK. At a time when austerity measures are hitting the poorest hardest, it is vital the UK government addresses the weak enforcement of tax legislation. With evidence and stories from our Programme around the UK. Contact Jonaid Jilani on +44 (0)1865 472193 or +44 (0)7810 181514 or jjilani@oxfam.org.uk



February

8: Launch of new fundraising campaign: For details contact Sophie Bowell +44 (0)1865 472254 / sbowell@oxfam.org.uk

Mid Feb: Oxfam briefing note: Public Services fight inequality. Oxfam will publish a paper looking at how strong health and education systems can help both to level the playing field, and to mitigate the worst effects of income inequality. Contact: Sarah Dransfield on +44 (0)1865 472269 / +44(0)7767 085636 / sdransfield@oxfam.org.uk

21-23: G20 Finance Ministers meeting, Sydney, Australia. Oxfam will be looking for further action from G20 Finance Ministers to tackle tax dodging and to make sure poor countries have a say on rewriting global tax rules. Contact: Sarah Dransfield on +44 (0)1865 472269 / +44(0)7767 085636 / sdransfield@oxfam.org.uk


680x150

Contact our 24/7 press hotline on: +44 (0)1865 472498 or email 
media.unit@oxfam.org.uk