Cookies on oxfam

We use cookies to ensure that you have the best experience on our website. If you continue browsing, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all our cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more Close

  • Grows vegetables
  • Fills classrooms
  • Drills wells
  • Empowers women
  • Fights poverty

The chill of night

£2.99

Product description

The Chill of Night is James Hayman's second instalment in his McCabe and Savage series.A frozen corpse means a big headache for Detective Michael McCabeLainie Goff thinks she has it all. A glamorous young Portland attorney with the brains and looks to match her ambitions, she's on the fast-track to a partnership. Until one cold winter night she discovers that her belief in her ability to handle any situation was misplaced. Now she's just a frozen corpse in the boot of a car at the end of Portland Fish Pier.And a problem for homicide detective Michael McCabe. Luckily for McCabe, there's a witness. A mentally disturbed young woman named Abby Quinn saw what happened to Lainie. Unfortunately, Abby mysteriously goes missing the very same night. With a victim who'd known more than her share of bad guys, a list of suspects that seems to get longer and longer and his only witness missing, McCabe has got his work cut out.But it's only a matter of time before the killer strikes again . . .Following the success of the first instalment The Cutting, The Chill of Night continues to follow Detective McCabe as he solves Portland's crimes. Fans of Harlan Coben and Michael Connelly will be hooked.Praise for James Hayman:'A stunning debut that gripped me from first page to last. A thriller of a thriller!' Tess Gerritsen'Supremely accomplished storytelling' Daily Mail'Taut, suspenseful . . . every bit as dark and sinister as Lehane and Connelly' Richard MontanariJames Hayman spent more than twenty years as a senior creative director at one of New York's largest advertising agencies. He and his wife now live in Portland, Maine. This is his third novel.

Item details

Author(s):
Hayman, James
Condition:
Used: good
Format:
Paperback
ISBN-10:
0141047305
ISBN-13:
9780141047300
Number of pages:
415
Publisher:
Penguin

Standard UK Delivery (currently free)

Delivery FAQs

Ts & Cs
Delivery FAQs

Free returns

within 21 days.
Returns policy

About this item

The Chill of Night is James Hayman's second instalment in his McCabe and Savage series.A frozen corpse means a big headache for Detective Michael McCabeLainie Goff thinks she has it all. A glamorous young Portland attorney with the brains and looks to match her ambitions, she's on the fast-track to a partnership. Until one cold winter night she discovers that her belief in her ability to handle any situation was misplaced. Now she's just a frozen corpse in the boot of a car at the end of Portland Fish Pier.And a problem for homicide detective Michael McCabe. Luckily for McCabe, there's a witness. A mentally disturbed young woman named Abby Quinn saw what happened to Lainie. Unfortunately, Abby mysteriously goes missing the very same night. With a victim who'd known more than her share of bad guys, a list of suspects that seems to get longer and longer and his only witness missing, McCabe has got his work cut out.But it's only a matter of time before the killer strikes again . . .Following the success of the first instalment The Cutting, The Chill of Night continues to follow Detective McCabe as he solves Portland's crimes. Fans of Harlan Coben and Michael Connelly will be hooked.Praise for James Hayman:'A stunning debut that gripped me from first page to last. A thriller of a thriller!' Tess Gerritsen'Supremely accomplished storytelling' Daily Mail'Taut, suspenseful . . . every bit as dark and sinister as Lehane and Connelly' Richard MontanariJames Hayman spent more than twenty years as a senior creative director at one of New York's largest advertising agencies. He and his wife now live in Portland, Maine. This is his third novel.

Author(s):
Hayman, James
Condition:
Used: good
Format:
Paperback
ISBN-10:
0141047305
ISBN-13:
9780141047300
Number of pages:
415
Publisher:
Penguin

Delivery & returns

This item will be dispatched to UK addresses via second class post within 2 working days of receipt of your order. Standard UK delivery is £3.95 per order, so you're only charged once no matter how many items you have in your basket. Any additional courier charges will be applied at checkout as they vary depending on delivery address.

This item will be dispatched to UK addresses via second class post within 2 working days of receipt of your order. Standard UK delivery is currently free, no matter how many items you have in your basket. Any additional courier charges will be applied at checkout as they vary depending on delivery address.

You can find out more about delivery and returns in our help section.

We offer a no quibble returns policy as follows:

Wedding dresses: 14 days

Overseas returns: 31 days

Everything else: 21 days


This item is also available for international delivery by airmail, carrying a mandatory delivery charge of:

Europe: £4.70

Outside Europe: £7.00

Volunteer listed

Wonder how this unique item ended up online?

Most of the second-hand items you see online have been donated, by supporters like you, to our high street stores. Each item is then priced, photographed and listed on this site by our amazing team of volunteers from across the country.

After you have bought your item, our team of volunteers package and dispatch it from the Shop straight to you or your chosen recipient.

All profits from the sales of our goods go towards funding Oxfam's work around the world. We rely on your donations to sell online so please keep the cycle of goodness going!

To find out more about volunteering with Oxfam, please visit our how to volunteer page.

Oxfam Bookshop St Albans

Oxfam is the UK's largest second hand bookseller, but it doesn't stop there. We sell a great range of donated music as well. Whether it's vintage LPs or the latest modern fiction you want, we're well worth a look! We also sell greetings cards for every occasion. And of course we have some great stock for sale on Oxfam's Online Shop, too. Call us to find out more.

Could you help us by collecting donations from donors homes? Our shop receives many offers of generous donations that we have to turn down as we do not have volunteers able to collect. We would ask you to collect in your own car, at your convenience and reimburse your petrol costs. It might be a couple of times a month and would make a really big difference to our ability to make money.

View Shop

You might also like...