Media calendar

Please find below our calendar of media stories and reports for the next few months. Do get in touch with the relevant contact if you'd like any more information or call the press office on +44 (0)1865 472498.

For the latest updates follow us on Twitter: @oxfamgbpress

February 2016

4 Feb: UK, UN and others host a conference in London on the Syria humanitarian crisis, looking at funding and meeting longer-term jobs and education needs for displaced people. Oxfam CEO Mark Goldring and Oxfam spokespeople from the region will attend. For interviews, contact Ian Bray +44 (0)1865 472289 / +44 (0)7721 461339 / ibray@oxfam.org.uk

5 Feb: Oxfam is a member of the Climate Coalition, which will be releasing a short 'Show the love...' film written by Michael Morpurgo, starring Maxine Peake and Jeremy Irons ahead of Valentine's Day. Contact Lisa Rutherford / +44 (0)7917 791836 / lrutherford@oxfam.org.uk

8 Feb: Swissleaks: one-year anniversary since tax dodging revelations. Oxfam spokespeople available for comment on how tax dodging harms poor countries and solutions to fix the global tax system. Contact Melanie Kramers +44 (0) 7825 088894 / mkramers1@oxfam.org.uk

9 Feb: UN Secretary General Ban Ki-moon launches agenda-setting report ahead of the World Humanitarian Summit in May. Oxfam spokespeople available: +44 (0)1865 472289 / +44 (0)7721 461339 / ibray@oxfam.org.uk

13 Feb: World Radio Day - celebrates how radio impacts millions of people everyday, and remains an important tool for development and a lifeline in times of emergency. For interview opportunities and feature ideas, contact Kai Tabacek: +44 (0)1865 473943 / +44 (0)7584 265077 / ktabacek1@oxfam.org.uk

March 2016

8 March: International Women's Day. Oxfam launches a range of activities to celebrate women, including new report on women and work, and Women Stand Up comedy gig in London with the UK's funniest women, raising funds and awareness. For report, contact Sophie Bowell: +44 (0)1865 472254 / sbowell@oxfam.org.uk For artist interviews, contact Lys Holdoway: +44 (0)1865 472484 / +44 (0)7721 461342 / lholdoway@oxfam.org.uk

In Wales, Oxfam Cymru will host a summit to celebrate women's achievements and ongoing equality work, with Chwarae Teg and Women Making a Difference. Contact Casia Wiliam +44 (0)2920 803292 / +44 (0)7887 571687 / cwiliam1@oxfam.org.uk

March TBC: Forbes annual rich list reveals number of global billionaires. Oxfam spokespeople available to comment on worsening inequality that is preventing an end to extreme poverty and solutions to ensure poorest get a fairer share. Contact Melanie Kramers +44 (0) 7825 088894 / mkramers1@oxfam.org.uk

15 March: Five years since the start of the Syria conflict. Human interest case studies available, plus Oxfam spokepeople for comment on the humanitarian situation. Contact Ian Bray +44 (0)1865 472289 / +44 (0)7721 461339 / ibray@oxfam.org.uk

16 March: Spring Budget. Oxfam spokespeople can comment on how new measures will impact the poorest and most vulnerable, at home and abroad. Contact Sarah Grainger: +44 (0)1865 472318 / +44 (0)7825 088894 / sgrainger1@oxfam.org.uk

21 March: Launch of 'Dressed by the Kids Day', Oxfam's new mass participation fundraising event which will take place in April. With celebrity support. Contact Emma Fabian +44 (0)1865 472193 / +44 (0)7825 503274 / efabian1@oxfam.org.uk

30 March: UN conference on the resettlement of Syrian refugees in Geneva. Oxfam is calling for the UK to take a fair share. For interviews, contact Ian Bray +44 (0)1865 472289 / +44 (0)7721 461339 / ibray@oxfam.org.uk

all month: Run up to Welsh Assembly elections, Oxfam shops across Wales host candidate cafe discussions looking at issues contained within Oxfam Cymru's Blueprint for Change. Contact Casia Wiliam +44 (0)2920 803292 / +44 (0)7887 571687 / cwiliam1@oxfam.org.uk

April 2016

7 April: World Health Day. Oxfam case studies available - loss of revenue to tax dodging creates huge healthcare funding gaps in world's poorest countries. For feature ideas please contact Melanie Kramers +44 (0) 7825 088894 / mkramers1@oxfam.org.uk

Early April: Annual publication of new overseas aid spending figures from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Oxfam spokespeople available for comment. Contact: Meg Pruce on +44 (0)1865 472240 / +44 (0)7824 824359 / mpruce1@oxfam.org.uk

15-17 April: World Bank/IMF annual meetings in Washington on global economic development. Oxfam will release a new report on gender inequality and poverty reduction. Contact Melanie Kramers +44 (0) 7825 088894 / mkramers1@oxfam.org.uk

25 April: First anniversary of Nepal earthquake. On 25 April 2015, a 7.8-magnitude earthquake struck Nepal killing almost 9,000 people and destroying an estimated 800,000 homes. Nepal was one of the first agencies to respond. For interviews, photos or video, contact Kai Tabacek: +44 (0)7584 265 077 / ktabacek1@oxfam.org.uk

29 April: 'Dressed by the Kids Day', Oxfam's new mass participation fundraising event. With celebrity support. Contact Emma Fabian +44 (0)1865 472193 / +44 (0)7825 503274 / efabian1@oxfam.org.uk

End April: Sunday Times rich list. Oxfam spokespeople available to comment on rising inequality that traps millions in poverty and how more equally shared wealth can benefit the most vulnerable. Contact Melanie Kramers +44 (0) 7825 088894 / mkramers1@oxfam.org.uk

/ Ends

680x150

Contact our 24/7 press hotline on: +44 (0)1865 472498 or email 
media.unit@oxfam.org.uk