Its History, Architecture and Monuments. With a brief History of the Order of St John from its Inception to the present Day. With two Plans and 760 Illustrations, 50 in colour. Limited edition, number 1496 of 2000 copies, signed by the author. A scarce book with red cloth hard covers, white cross on the front, gilt titles on the spine. Unfortunately the book has been exposed to damp and there is staining and watermarking on both boards, on the endpapers, the edges of the title and first 50 pages, and the index pages at the rear. The last free endpaper is damaged with a piece missing from the lower half and the rear pastedown has corresponding surface damage. The Church of St. John (aka St John's Co-Cathedral) holds the only known signed Caravaggio: The Beheading of Saint John the Baptist. The church is a gem of baroque art and architecture. Its rich history and artistic heritage is due to the fact that, for over 200 years, it was the conventual church of the Order of St John of Jerusalem. The history of the church is directly tied to the history of the Order in Malta. Over the years, the Grand Masters, dignitaries, and Knights donated gifts of high artistic value and made enormous contributions to enrich it with the best works of art by the leading artists available to them. The Knights themselves referred to the church as 'La Nostra Chiesa Maggiore Della Sacra Religione Gerosolmitana'. Large, heavy book.