Cookies on oxfam

We use cookies to ensure that you have the best experience on our website. If you continue browsing, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all our cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more Accept

  • Grows vegetables
  • Fills classrooms
  • Drills wells
  • Empowers women
  • Fights poverty
  • Free Uk delivery on all gifts
    Or you can add a donation at checkout
  • Personalise your gift at checkout
    Add a personal message, ecard or card front
  • Add a 'Little Extra' at checkout
    Add-on gifts available (including chocolate!)

Into the Night

£2.99

Product description

The second sophisticated and dark installment in Jake Woodhouse's Amsterdam Quartet, featuring returning series character Inspector Jaap Rykel. After the Silence was Jake's first novel. 'DOES FOR AMSTERDAM WHAT RANKIN DID FOR EDINBURGH' Crime Thriller Hound ***A body is found on a rooftop, the dead man's hands blowtorched, his head removed. The man tasked with tracking down the killer is Amsterdam Inspector Jaap Rykel. But as he searches the headless body for clues Rykel finds something which makes his blood run cold - a picture of himself on the victim's phone. And then a message from the killer reveals the location of a second mutilated corpse. It's another day in Western Europe's murder capital . . .Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and The Killing. Acclaim for Jake Woodhouse:'A strong sense of place is matched by a capacity for storytelling that keeps the plot accelerating' Daily Mail'A complex, brilliantly written crime novel, which builds to a truly shocking climax' S.J. Sykes, author of Plague Land'Dark, claustrophobic and non-stop' Crime Review'Superficially, a cracking cops 'n' robbers story, but with a deep, dark heart. You will read it in just a few sessions and be gripped ... The conclusion is intense, violent and shocking ... it left me literally dry-mouthed ... For someone on only his second novel, he writes like an established master' Crime Fiction Lover'Utterly enthralling ... Looks set to be one of the key sequences in modern crime fiction' Barry Forshaw, Crimetime 'Claustrophobic, disturbing and utterly thrilling' Crime Squad'Jake Woodhouse's taut, twisty plots are expertly woven and beautifully written. They are peopled with complex characters that will have you turning the pages to see what becomes of them. He has created a flawed gem in Inspector Jaap Rykel, a cop with an assured literary future' Craig Robertson, author of Witness the Dead and The Last Refuge'As dark and twisty as the Amsterdam it navigates' Stav Sherez 'This is a great debut' Crime Fiction Lover 'This gripping detective novel will thrill fans of The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and bears comparison to Fatherland ... Utterly unputdownable' Sun 'Complex ... intriguing ... keeps the reader hooked' Eurocrime

Item details

Author(s):
woodhouse, Jake
Condition:
Fine
Format:
Paperback
ISBN-10:
1405914319
ISBN-13:
9781405914314
Number of pages:
453
Publisher:
Penguin Books

Standard UK Delivery (currently free)

Delivery FAQs

Ts & Cs
Delivery FAQs

Free returns

within 21 days.
Returns policy

About this item

The second sophisticated and dark installment in Jake Woodhouse's Amsterdam Quartet, featuring returning series character Inspector Jaap Rykel. After the Silence was Jake's first novel. 'DOES FOR AMSTERDAM WHAT RANKIN DID FOR EDINBURGH' Crime Thriller Hound ***A body is found on a rooftop, the dead man's hands blowtorched, his head removed. The man tasked with tracking down the killer is Amsterdam Inspector Jaap Rykel. But as he searches the headless body for clues Rykel finds something which makes his blood run cold - a picture of himself on the victim's phone. And then a message from the killer reveals the location of a second mutilated corpse. It's another day in Western Europe's murder capital . . .Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and The Killing. Acclaim for Jake Woodhouse:'A strong sense of place is matched by a capacity for storytelling that keeps the plot accelerating' Daily Mail'A complex, brilliantly written crime novel, which builds to a truly shocking climax' S.J. Sykes, author of Plague Land'Dark, claustrophobic and non-stop' Crime Review'Superficially, a cracking cops 'n' robbers story, but with a deep, dark heart. You will read it in just a few sessions and be gripped ... The conclusion is intense, violent and shocking ... it left me literally dry-mouthed ... For someone on only his second novel, he writes like an established master' Crime Fiction Lover'Utterly enthralling ... Looks set to be one of the key sequences in modern crime fiction' Barry Forshaw, Crimetime 'Claustrophobic, disturbing and utterly thrilling' Crime Squad'Jake Woodhouse's taut, twisty plots are expertly woven and beautifully written. They are peopled with complex characters that will have you turning the pages to see what becomes of them. He has created a flawed gem in Inspector Jaap Rykel, a cop with an assured literary future' Craig Robertson, author of Witness the Dead and The Last Refuge'As dark and twisty as the Amsterdam it navigates' Stav Sherez 'This is a great debut' Crime Fiction Lover 'This gripping detective novel will thrill fans of The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and bears comparison to Fatherland ... Utterly unputdownable' Sun 'Complex ... intriguing ... keeps the reader hooked' Eurocrime

Author(s):
woodhouse, Jake
Condition:
Fine
Format:
Paperback
ISBN-10:
1405914319
ISBN-13:
9781405914314
Number of pages:
453
Publisher:
Penguin Books

Delivery & returns

This item will be dispatched to UK addresses via second class post within 2 working days of receipt of your order. Standard UK delivery is £3.95 per order, so you're only charged once no matter how many items you have in your basket. Any additional courier charges will be applied at checkout as they vary depending on delivery address.

This item will be dispatched to UK addresses via second class post within 2 working days of receipt of your order. Standard UK delivery is currently free, no matter how many items you have in your basket. Any additional courier charges will be applied at checkout as they vary depending on delivery address.

You can find out more about delivery and returns in our help section.

We offer a no quibble returns policy as follows:

Wedding dresses: 14 days

Overseas returns: 31 days

Everything else: 21 days


This item is also available for international delivery by airmail, carrying a mandatory delivery charge of:

Europe: £4.70

Outside Europe: £7.00

Volunteer listed

Wonder how this unique item ended up online?

Most of the second-hand items you see online have been donated, by supporters like you, to our high street stores. Each item is then priced, photographed and listed on this site by our amazing team of volunteers from across the country.

After you have bought your item, our team of volunteers package and dispatch it from the Shop straight to you or your chosen recipient.

All profits from the sales of our goods go towards funding Oxfam's work around the world. We rely on your donations to sell online so please keep the cycle of goodness going!

To find out more about volunteering with Oxfam, please visit our how to volunteer page.

Oxfam Bookshop St Albans

Oxfam is the UK's largest second hand bookseller, but it doesn't stop there. We sell a great range of donated music as well. Whether it's vintage LPs or the latest modern fiction you want, we're well worth a look! We also sell greetings cards for every occasion. And of course we have some great stock for sale on Oxfam's Online Shop, too. Call us to find out more.

Could you help us by collecting donations from donors homes? Our shop receives many offers of generous donations that we have to turn down as we do not have volunteers able to collect. We would ask you to collect in your own car, at your convenience and reimburse your petrol costs. It might be a couple of times a month and would make a really big difference to our ability to make money.

View Shop

You might also like...