Cookies on oxfam

We use cookies to ensure that you have the best experience on our website. If you continue browsing, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all our cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more Accept

  • Grows vegetables
  • Fills classrooms
  • Drills wells
  • Empowers women
  • Fights poverty
  • Free Uk delivery on all gifts
    Or you can add a donation at checkout
  • Personalise your gift at checkout
    Add a personal message, ecard or card front
  • Add a 'Little Extra' at checkout
    Add-on gifts available (including chocolate!)

A Snow Garden & Other Stories

£14.99

Product description

This first edition signed by the author would make an ideal Christmas present for fans of Rachel Joyce, Christmas fiction and/or short stories. In the course of a year a woman finds a cure for a broken heart where she least expects it; a husband and wife build their son a bicycle and, in the process, deconstruct their happy marriage; freak weather brings the airport to a standstill on Christmas Day; a young woman will change her life by saying one word. Here are seven linked stories. Each of them is a small masterpiece, but as one character steps forward and another steps back, it is in the way they interweave that Rachel Joyce pinpoints much of the humour and tragedy of our everyday experience. With hallmarks that made her first book so exceptional, A Snow Garden & Other Stories celebrates heroism in the most unassuming of figures and finds significance in small moments that can change everything. Compelling and rewarding, tender and funny, it portrays family relationships at a time of year that should be joyous but is so often tangled and painful, reminding us that there is always a bigger story behind the first one we see. This 2015 hardback book is in very good condition. The sleeve is unclipped and has some very minor creasing to the top of the spine and the edges from where it has been stored and has a "signed first edition" label on the front. The hardback cover has some minor creasing to the top and bottom of the book from where it has been stored, The author has signed her name (not dedicated) in black ink on the inner title page. The 223 pages are in excellent condition and appear unread. The book comes with a bookmark from the original seller Richard Booth's

Item details

Added value:
Signed first edition
Author(s):
Joyce, Rachel
Condition:
Used: very good
Dimensions:
7.5 x 5.5 x 1in
Edition:
First edition
Format:
Hardback
ISBN-10:
0857523538
ISBN-13:
9780857523532
Number of pages:
223
Publisher:
Doubleday

Standard UK Delivery (currently free)

Delivery FAQs

Ts & Cs
Delivery FAQs

Free returns

within 21 days.
Returns policy

About this item

This first edition signed by the author would make an ideal Christmas present for fans of Rachel Joyce, Christmas fiction and/or short stories. In the course of a year a woman finds a cure for a broken heart where she least expects it; a husband and wife build their son a bicycle and, in the process, deconstruct their happy marriage; freak weather brings the airport to a standstill on Christmas Day; a young woman will change her life by saying one word. Here are seven linked stories. Each of them is a small masterpiece, but as one character steps forward and another steps back, it is in the way they interweave that Rachel Joyce pinpoints much of the humour and tragedy of our everyday experience. With hallmarks that made her first book so exceptional, A Snow Garden & Other Stories celebrates heroism in the most unassuming of figures and finds significance in small moments that can change everything. Compelling and rewarding, tender and funny, it portrays family relationships at a time of year that should be joyous but is so often tangled and painful, reminding us that there is always a bigger story behind the first one we see. This 2015 hardback book is in very good condition. The sleeve is unclipped and has some very minor creasing to the top of the spine and the edges from where it has been stored and has a "signed first edition" label on the front. The hardback cover has some minor creasing to the top and bottom of the book from where it has been stored, The author has signed her name (not dedicated) in black ink on the inner title page. The 223 pages are in excellent condition and appear unread. The book comes with a bookmark from the original seller Richard Booth's

Added value:
Signed first edition
Author(s):
Joyce, Rachel
Condition:
Used: very good
Dimensions:
7.5 x 5.5 x 1in
Edition:
First edition
Format:
Hardback
ISBN-10:
0857523538
ISBN-13:
9780857523532
Number of pages:
223
Publisher:
Doubleday

Delivery & returns

This item will be dispatched to UK addresses via second class post within 2 working days of receipt of your order. Standard UK delivery is £3.95 per order, so you're only charged once no matter how many items you have in your basket. Any additional courier charges will be applied at checkout as they vary depending on delivery address.

This item will be dispatched to UK addresses via second class post within 2 working days of receipt of your order. Standard UK delivery is currently free, no matter how many items you have in your basket. Any additional courier charges will be applied at checkout as they vary depending on delivery address.

You can find out more about delivery and returns in our help section.

We offer a no quibble returns policy as follows:

Wedding dresses: 14 days

Overseas returns: 31 days

Everything else: 21 days


This item is also available for international delivery by airmail, carrying a mandatory delivery charge of:

Europe: £4.70

Outside Europe: £7.00

Volunteer listed

Wonder how this unique item ended up online?

Most of the second-hand items you see online have been donated, by supporters like you, to our high street stores. Each item is then priced, photographed and listed on this site by our amazing team of volunteers from across the country.

After you have bought your item, our team of volunteers package and dispatch it from the Shop straight to you or your chosen recipient.

All profits from the sales of our goods go towards funding Oxfam's work around the world. We rely on your donations to sell online so please keep the cycle of goodness going!

To find out more about volunteering with Oxfam, please visit our how to volunteer page.

Oxfam Shop Ecclesall Road

We're a small friendly shop located on the bustling Ecclesall Road with its lively mix of shops, cafes and bars. We sell a wide range of new and quality donated goods - clothes & accessories, books & music, homewares & toys, plus a great range of Fair Trade foods, green household & body products, gifts, stationery and greetings cards.

View Shop