Cookies on oxfam

We use cookies to ensure that you have the best experience on our website. If you continue browsing, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all our cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more Accept

  • Grows vegetables
  • Fills classrooms
  • Drills wells
  • Empowers women
  • Fights poverty
  • Free Uk delivery on all gifts
    Or you can add a donation at checkout
  • Personalise your gift at checkout
    Add a personal message, ecard or card front
  • Add a 'Little Extra' at checkout
    Add-on gifts available (including chocolate!)

Free returns

-

£3.95 delivery per order

-

All profits fight poverty

Keep up with Oxfam's Online Shop

Subscribe to our newsletter for all our latest updates, offers and promotions.

© 2015. Oxfam is a registered charity in England and Wales (no 202918) and Scotland (SC039042). Oxfam GB is a member of Oxfam International.

The Chilbury Ladies' Choir

£1.99

Product description

Published by The Borough Press in 2018. Paperback, used but in very good condition. The writing glows with emotional intelligence. This atmospheric debut had me sniffing copiously Daily Mail IN WARTIME, SURVIVAL IS AS MUCH ABOUT FRIENDSHIP AS IT IS ABOUT COURAGE Kent, 1940. In the idyllic village of Chilbury change is afoot. Hearts are breaking as sons and husbands leave to fight, and when the Vicar decides to close the choir until the men return, all seems lost.But coming together in song is just what the women of Chilbury need in these dark hours, and they are ready to sing. With a little fighting spirit and the arrival of a new musical resident, the charismatic Miss Primrose Trent, the choir is reborn.Some see the choir as a chance to forget their troubles, others the chance to shine. Though for one villager, the choir is the perfect cover to destroy Chilburys new-found harmony An uplifting and heart-warming novel perfect for fans of Helen Simonsons The Summer before the War and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

Item details

Author(s):
Jennifer Ryan
Condition:
Used: very good
Dimensions:
20 x 13 cms (7.75 x 5 ins)
Edition:
2018
Format:
Paperback
ISBN-10:
0008163731
ISBN-13:
9780008163730
Number of pages:
455
Publisher:
The Borough Press
Title:
The Chilbury Ladies' Choir

Standard UK Delivery (£3.95 per order)

Ts and Cs
Delivery FAQs

Free returns

within 28 days.
Returns policy

About this item

Published by The Borough Press in 2018. Paperback, used but in very good condition. The writing glows with emotional intelligence. This atmospheric debut had me sniffing copiously Daily Mail IN WARTIME, SURVIVAL IS AS MUCH ABOUT FRIENDSHIP AS IT IS ABOUT COURAGE Kent, 1940. In the idyllic village of Chilbury change is afoot. Hearts are breaking as sons and husbands leave to fight, and when the Vicar decides to close the choir until the men return, all seems lost.But coming together in song is just what the women of Chilbury need in these dark hours, and they are ready to sing. With a little fighting spirit and the arrival of a new musical resident, the charismatic Miss Primrose Trent, the choir is reborn.Some see the choir as a chance to forget their troubles, others the chance to shine. Though for one villager, the choir is the perfect cover to destroy Chilburys new-found harmony An uplifting and heart-warming novel perfect for fans of Helen Simonsons The Summer before the War and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

Author(s):
Jennifer Ryan
Condition:
Used: very good
Dimensions:
20 x 13 cms (7.75 x 5 ins)
Edition:
2018
Format:
Paperback
ISBN-10:
0008163731
ISBN-13:
9780008163730
Number of pages:
455
Publisher:
The Borough Press
Title:
The Chilbury Ladies' Choir

Delivery & returns

This item will be dispatched to UK addresses via second class post within 2 working days of receipt of your order. Standard UK delivery is Standard UK delivery is £3.95 per order, so you're only charged once no matter how many items you have in your basket. Any additional courier charges will be applied at checkout as they vary depending on delivery address.

This item will be dispatched to UK addresses via second class post within 2 working days of receipt of your order. Standard UK delivery is currently free no matter how many items you have in your basket. Any additional courier charges will be applied at checkout as they vary depending on delivery address.

You can find out more about delivery and returns in our help section.

We offer a no quibble returns policy as follows:

Wedding dresses: 14 days

Overseas returns: 31 days

Everything else: 28 days



Volunteer listed

Wonder how this unique item ended up online?

Most of the second-hand items you see online have been donated, by supporters like you, to our high street stores. Each item is then priced, photographed and listed on this site by our amazing team of volunteers from across the country.

After you have bought your item, our team of volunteers package and dispatch it from the Shop straight to you or your chosen recipient.

All profits from the sales of our goods go towards funding Oxfam's work around the world. We rely on your donations to sell online so please keep the cycle of goodness going!

To find out more about volunteering with Oxfam, please visit our how to volunteer page.

Oxfam Shop Pershore

A great range for all shoppers! We sell quality donated clothes, a wide choice of books, music, sheet music and homewares.  We also sell Fairtrade gifts and chocolate, greetings cards, "Faith in Nature" toiletries and 'green' products.  Please call us for more information.


View Shop