Cookies on oxfam

We use cookies to ensure that you have the best experience on our website. If you continue browsing, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all our cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more Accept

  • Grows vegetables
  • Fills classrooms
  • Drills wells
  • Empowers women
  • Fights poverty
  • Free Uk delivery on all gifts
    Or you can add a donation at checkout
  • Personalise your gift at checkout
    Add a personal message, ecard or card front
  • Add a 'Little Extra' at checkout
    Add-on gifts available (including chocolate!)

Feedback

Free returns

-

£3.95 UK delivery

-

All profits fight poverty

Keep up with Oxfam's Online Shop

Subscribe to our newsletter for all our latest updates, offers and promotions.

sign up to newsletter
© 2015. Oxfam is a registered charity in England and Wales (no 202918) and Scotland (SC039042). Oxfam GB is a member of Oxfam International.

The man I think I know

£2.99

Product description

As seen on ITV in the Zoe Ball Book Club'Beautifully written, thought-provoking and completely charming.' Ruth Hogan'Mike Gayle is the king of touching, human stories, and this big-hearted book is his best yet' Heat, 5* This is the stunning new novel from bestselling author Mike Gayle, for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine. A powerful and bittersweet story of an unexpected male friendship and an unlikely love story, a thought provoking storyline told with Mike's distinctive wit and insight, touching on issues which affect us all. This uplifting tale reminds us of the simple courage at the heart of every human being.Ever since The Incident, James DeWitt has stayed on the safe side.He likes to know what happens next.Danny Allen is not on the safe side. He is more past the point of no return.The past is about to catch up with both of them in a way that which will change their lives forever, unexpectedly. But redemption can come in the most unlikely ways. Look out for Mike's new novel, Half a World Away, available to pre-order now!*******************Praise for The Man I Think I Know'Beautifully written, thought-provoking and completely charming . . . reminds us that the everyday things we take for granted without realising how precious they are, can be snatched away in an instant with catastrophic consequences' Ruth Hogan'That rarest of things; a moving, beautifully written novel about male friendship . . . I absolutely loved it' Lisa Jewell'Mike is always wise and wonderful, but this is a whole new departure for him - read it!' Jenny ColganYou'll be both laughing and on the edge of tears with this brilliant read' Fabulous magazine*******************Readers are raving about this book!'This is one of those books that is tugging on your heartstrings one moment and has you laughing out loud the next - another stunning plot line and narrative from Mike Gayle.''I loved the narrative and I left this novel feeling totally uplifted . . . I now feel like there is some hope in the world!''This book is sad, funny, quirky, touching, heartbreaking but - and this is going to sound totally cliched and corny - life affirming.'

Item details

Condition:
Used: very good
Format:
Paperback
ISBN-10:
1473608996
ISBN-13:
9781473608993
Publisher:
Hodder

Standard UK Delivery (£3.95 per order)

Delivery FAQs

Ts & Cs
Delivery FAQs

Free returns

within 28 days.
Returns policy

About this item

As seen on ITV in the Zoe Ball Book Club'Beautifully written, thought-provoking and completely charming.' Ruth Hogan'Mike Gayle is the king of touching, human stories, and this big-hearted book is his best yet' Heat, 5* This is the stunning new novel from bestselling author Mike Gayle, for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine. A powerful and bittersweet story of an unexpected male friendship and an unlikely love story, a thought provoking storyline told with Mike's distinctive wit and insight, touching on issues which affect us all. This uplifting tale reminds us of the simple courage at the heart of every human being.Ever since The Incident, James DeWitt has stayed on the safe side.He likes to know what happens next.Danny Allen is not on the safe side. He is more past the point of no return.The past is about to catch up with both of them in a way that which will change their lives forever, unexpectedly. But redemption can come in the most unlikely ways. Look out for Mike's new novel, Half a World Away, available to pre-order now!*******************Praise for The Man I Think I Know'Beautifully written, thought-provoking and completely charming . . . reminds us that the everyday things we take for granted without realising how precious they are, can be snatched away in an instant with catastrophic consequences' Ruth Hogan'That rarest of things; a moving, beautifully written novel about male friendship . . . I absolutely loved it' Lisa Jewell'Mike is always wise and wonderful, but this is a whole new departure for him - read it!' Jenny ColganYou'll be both laughing and on the edge of tears with this brilliant read' Fabulous magazine*******************Readers are raving about this book!'This is one of those books that is tugging on your heartstrings one moment and has you laughing out loud the next - another stunning plot line and narrative from Mike Gayle.''I loved the narrative and I left this novel feeling totally uplifted . . . I now feel like there is some hope in the world!''This book is sad, funny, quirky, touching, heartbreaking but - and this is going to sound totally cliched and corny - life affirming.'

Condition:
Used: very good
Format:
Paperback
ISBN-10:
1473608996
ISBN-13:
9781473608993
Publisher:
Hodder

Delivery & returns

This item will be dispatched to UK addresses via second class post within 2 working days of receipt of your order. Standard UK delivery is £3.95 per order, so you're only charged once no matter how many items you have in your basket. Any additional courier charges will be applied at checkout as they vary depending on delivery address.

This item will be dispatched to UK addresses via second class post within 2 working days of receipt of your order. Standard UK delivery is currently free, no matter how many items you have in your basket. Any additional courier charges will be applied at checkout as they vary depending on delivery address.

You can find out more about delivery and returns in our help section.

We offer a no quibble returns policy as follows:

Wedding dresses: 28 days

Overseas returns: 31 days

Everything else: 28 days


This item is also available for international delivery by airmail, carrying a mandatory delivery charge of:

Europe: £4.70

Outside Europe: £7.00

Volunteer listed

Wonder how this unique item ended up online?

Most of the second-hand items you see online have been donated, by supporters like you, to our high street stores. Each item is then priced, photographed and listed on this site by our amazing team of volunteers from across the country.

After you have bought your item, our team of volunteers package and dispatch it from the Shop straight to you or your chosen recipient.

All profits from the sales of our goods go towards funding Oxfam's work around the world. We rely on your donations to sell online so please keep the cycle of goodness going!

To find out more about volunteering with Oxfam, please visit our how to volunteer page.

Oxfam Bookshop Cheltenham

Oxfam is the UK's largest second hand bookseller. Oxfam bookshops offer a wider selection of books than most shops, from modern fiction and leisure interest to more specialist subjects, classics, and rare or collectable books. We also sell a good selection of Fairtrade food and greetings cards. Come and browse!

View Shop