Cookies on oxfam

We use cookies to ensure that you have the best experience on our website. If you continue browsing, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all our cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more Accept

  • Grows vegetables
  • Fills classrooms
  • Drills wells
  • Empowers women
  • Fights poverty
  • Free Uk delivery on all gifts
    Or you can add a donation at checkout
  • Personalise your gift at checkout
    Add a personal message, ecard or card front
  • Add a 'Little Extra' at checkout
    Add-on gifts available (including chocolate!)

Free returns

-

£3.95 delivery per order

-

All profits fight poverty

Keep up with Oxfam's Online Shop

Subscribe to our newsletter for all our latest updates, offers and promotions.

© 2015. Oxfam is a registered charity in England and Wales (no 202918) and Scotland (SC039042). Oxfam GB is a member of Oxfam International.

Hollywood from Vietnam to Reagan . . . and Beyond: A Revised and Expanded Edition of the Classic Text

£6.99 Out Of Stock

Product description

REDUCED TO £6.99 FROM £14.99

About the book:
This classic of film criticism, long considered invaluable for its eloquent study of a problematic period in film history, is now substantially updated and revised by the author to include chapters beyond the Reagan era and into the twenty-first century. For the new edition, Robin Wood has written a substantial new preface that explores the interesting double context within which the book can be read-that in which it was written and that in which we find ourselves today. Among the other additions to this new edition are a celebration of modern "screwball" comedies like My Best Friend's Wedding, and an analysis of '90s American and Canadian teen movies in the vein of American Pie, Can't Hardly Wait, and Rollercoaster. Also included are a chapter on Hollywood today that looks at David Fincher and Jim Jarmusch (among others) and an illuminating essay on Day of the Dead.

Item details

Author(s):
Robin Wood
Condition:
Used: very good
Edition:
2003
Format:
Paperback
ISBN-10:
023112967X
ISBN-13:
9780231129671
Number of pages:
363
Publisher:
Columbia University Press
Title:
Hollywood from Vietnam to Reagan . . . and Beyond: A Revised and Expanded Edition of the Classic Text

Sold Out

We're sorry to say this item has now sold out.

There are over 100,000 more items in stock. Start browsing with our suggestions below.

About this item

REDUCED TO £6.99 FROM £14.99

About the book:
This classic of film criticism, long considered invaluable for its eloquent study of a problematic period in film history, is now substantially updated and revised by the author to include chapters beyond the Reagan era and into the twenty-first century. For the new edition, Robin Wood has written a substantial new preface that explores the interesting double context within which the book can be read-that in which it was written and that in which we find ourselves today. Among the other additions to this new edition are a celebration of modern "screwball" comedies like My Best Friend's Wedding, and an analysis of '90s American and Canadian teen movies in the vein of American Pie, Can't Hardly Wait, and Rollercoaster. Also included are a chapter on Hollywood today that looks at David Fincher and Jim Jarmusch (among others) and an illuminating essay on Day of the Dead.

Author(s):
Robin Wood
Condition:
Used: very good
Edition:
2003
Format:
Paperback
ISBN-10:
023112967X
ISBN-13:
9780231129671
Number of pages:
363
Publisher:
Columbia University Press
Title:
Hollywood from Vietnam to Reagan . . . and Beyond: A Revised and Expanded Edition of the Classic Text

Delivery & returns

This item will be dispatched to UK addresses via second class post within 2 working days of receipt of your order. Standard UK delivery is Standard UK delivery is £3.95 per order, so you're only charged once no matter how many items you have in your basket. Any additional courier charges will be applied at checkout as they vary depending on delivery address.

This item will be dispatched to UK addresses via second class post within 2 working days of receipt of your order. Standard UK delivery is currently free no matter how many items you have in your basket. Any additional courier charges will be applied at checkout as they vary depending on delivery address.

You can find out more about delivery and returns in our help section.

We offer a no quibble returns policy as follows:

Wedding dresses: 14 days

Overseas returns: 31 days

Everything else: 28 days



Volunteer listed

Wonder how this unique item ended up online?

Most of the second-hand items you see online have been donated, by supporters like you, to our high street stores. Each item is then priced, photographed and listed on this site by our amazing team of volunteers from across the country.

After you have bought your item, our team of volunteers package and dispatch it from the Shop straight to you or your chosen recipient.

All profits from the sales of our goods go towards funding Oxfam's work around the world. We rely on your donations to sell online so please keep the cycle of goodness going!

To find out more about volunteering with Oxfam, please visit our how to volunteer page.

Oxfam Shop Coventry

Oxfam's Bridal department in Coventry usually carries up to 100 bridal gowns in all sizes, designs and prices to suit any Bride-to-Be. We also offer a great selection of bridesmaid's, evening and prom gowns, accessories (inc hats), children's, men's items and 'Mother of the Bride' style outfits. The bridal department is situated on the upper floor of the Coventry Shop at 300 Walsgrave Road. Monday to Thursday the Bridal department is open for general browsing between 10am and 4pm, so pop in anytime, Friday to Sunday is by appointment only. We recommend that you phone us on 02476 448909 or e-mail us at oxfamshopf2114@oxfam.org.uk prior to visiting to avoid disappointment. The Standard shop is open 9am to 5pm except Sunday which is 10am to 4pm. We look forward to meeting you soon.

View Shop