Cookies on oxfam

We use cookies to ensure that you have the best experience on our website. If you continue browsing, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all our cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more Accept

  • Grows vegetables
  • Fills classrooms
  • Drills wells
  • Empowers women
  • Fights poverty
  • Free Uk delivery on all gifts
    Or you can add a donation at checkout
  • Personalise your gift at checkout
    Add a personal message, ecard or card front
  • Add a 'Little Extra' at checkout
    Add-on gifts available (including chocolate!)

The Fifth Sacred Thing

£9.99 Out Of Stock

Product description

This is in Mint condition and exhibits no sign of wear or use. Publisher's description: "It is San Francisco, 2048. Priestess Maya Greenwood lives in a tight-knit community run on ecological principles, without poverty, hunger, or hatred, where a rich culture honours its diverse mix of races, religions and sexual orientations, and the Four Sacred Things that sustain life -- earth, air, fire and water -- are valued above all. The Fifth is Spirit. In this, Starhawk's first novel, Maya Greenwood suddenly finds her idyllic world threatened by invasion from the militaristic state to the north: a nightmare place where a totalitarian regime polices a corrupt apartheid state. How can her community, which doesn't believe in violence, defend themselves? California is poised to become a battleground between two clashing cultures, and the outcome rests on the wisdom and courage of the community, and particularly in the strength and vision of the extraordinary Priestess Maya. In the tradition of Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale, Starhawk's visionary novel creates a complex fictional reality about love and war, freedom and slavery, and the future of the living planet."

Item details

Added value:
Mint condition
Author(s):
Starhawk
Condition:
As new
Edition:
1999
Format:
Paperback
ISBN-10:
0722538898
ISBN-13:
9780722538890
Number of pages:
486
Publisher:
Thorsons

Sold Out

We're sorry to say this item has now sold out.

There are over 100,000 more items in stock. Start browsing with our suggestions below.

About this item

This is in Mint condition and exhibits no sign of wear or use. Publisher's description: "It is San Francisco, 2048. Priestess Maya Greenwood lives in a tight-knit community run on ecological principles, without poverty, hunger, or hatred, where a rich culture honours its diverse mix of races, religions and sexual orientations, and the Four Sacred Things that sustain life -- earth, air, fire and water -- are valued above all. The Fifth is Spirit. In this, Starhawk's first novel, Maya Greenwood suddenly finds her idyllic world threatened by invasion from the militaristic state to the north: a nightmare place where a totalitarian regime polices a corrupt apartheid state. How can her community, which doesn't believe in violence, defend themselves? California is poised to become a battleground between two clashing cultures, and the outcome rests on the wisdom and courage of the community, and particularly in the strength and vision of the extraordinary Priestess Maya. In the tradition of Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale, Starhawk's visionary novel creates a complex fictional reality about love and war, freedom and slavery, and the future of the living planet."

Added value:
Mint condition
Author(s):
Starhawk
Condition:
As new
Edition:
1999
Format:
Paperback
ISBN-10:
0722538898
ISBN-13:
9780722538890
Number of pages:
486
Publisher:
Thorsons

Delivery & returns

This item will be dispatched to UK addresses via second class post within 2 working days of receipt of your order. Standard UK delivery is £3.95 per order, so you're only charged once no matter how many items you have in your basket. Any additional courier charges will be applied at checkout as they vary depending on delivery address.

This item will be dispatched to UK addresses via second class post within 2 working days of receipt of your order. Standard UK delivery is currently free, no matter how many items you have in your basket. Any additional courier charges will be applied at checkout as they vary depending on delivery address.

You can find out more about delivery and returns in our help section.

We offer a no quibble returns policy as follows:

Wedding dresses: 14 days

Overseas returns: 31 days

Everything else: 21 days


This item is also available for international delivery by airmail, carrying a mandatory delivery charge of:

Europe: £4.70

Outside Europe: £7.00

Volunteer listed

Wonder how this unique item ended up online?

Most of the second-hand items you see online have been donated, by supporters like you, to our high street stores. Each item is then priced, photographed and listed on this site by our amazing team of volunteers from across the country.

After you have bought your item, our team of volunteers package and dispatch it from the Shop straight to you or your chosen recipient.

All profits from the sales of our goods go towards funding Oxfam's work around the world. We rely on your donations to sell online so please keep the cycle of goodness going!

To find out more about volunteering with Oxfam, please visit our how to volunteer page.

Oxfam Bookshop Newport

Newport Books & Music is situated in the picturesque market square at the heart of the Isle of Wight's principal shopping centre, conventiently placed for public transport and parking. We stock a wide range of high quality used books and music, both vintage and modern, along with Oxfam's popular fair-trade gift products and an exclusive selection of work produced by local artists.

Oxfam is the UK's largest second hand bookseller. Oxfam bookshops offer a wider selection of books than most shops, from modern fiction and leisure interest to more specialist subjects, classics, and rare or collectable books. We also sell a good selection of attractive greetings cards. Come and browse!

View Shop