Cookies on oxfam

We use cookies to ensure that you have the best experience on our website. If you continue browsing, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all our cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more Accept

  • Grows vegetables
  • Fills classrooms
  • Drills wells
  • Empowers women
  • Fights poverty
  • Free Uk delivery on all gifts
    Or you can add a donation at checkout
  • Personalise your gift at checkout
    Add a personal message, ecard or card front
  • Add a 'Little Extra' at checkout
    Add-on gifts available (including chocolate!)

Feedback

Free returns

-

£3.95 UK delivery

-

All profits fight poverty

Keep up with Oxfam's Online Shop

© 2015. Oxfam is a registered charity in England and Wales (no 202918) and Scotland (SC039042). Oxfam GB is a member of Oxfam International.

The Empire of Non-sense: Art in the Technological Society

£14.99

Product description

The Empire of Non-sense: Art in the Technological Society
Jacques Ellul
Introductory essays by Samir Younes & David Lovekin
Translated by Michael Johnson & David Lovekin

Papadakis Publisher, Winterbourne, 2014.
English edition first published in 2014 by Papadakis Publisher. Originally published as “L’empire du non-sens” Presses Universitaires de France 1980.

Hardback; 220 x 265 mm; unglazed pictorial boards; 168 pages; printed on good quality glossy paper. No dust jacket.
The book is in fine condition.

“Translated into English for the first time, Jacques Ellul’s ground-breaking ‘Empire of Non-Sense’ analyses the relation between technology, art, rationality and human freedom. Many modern artists and architects continue to imagine and build the world technologically. Their beliefs remain firmly rooted in their assumption that the liberating forces of technology freed them from previous artistic traditions while making available vast means of production and a plethora of materials. All artistic traditions were seemingly put aside by the paintings of Cézanne, the poetry of Baudelaire and the architecture of Le Corbusier. Behind this apparent freedom French critic Jacques Ellul, author of the classic ‘The Technological Society’, found an absolute slavery. The artist was the handmaiden of technology, a relation the artist no longer understood, like other citizens of technological culture. Artists acclaimed their unbridled individualism while being intensely determined by the forces of technological culture. Ellul examines this process in modern art from the beginning of the 20th century where the sense of art its meaning and embodiments is reduced to non-sense. Ellul’s study is in the tradition of Guy Debord’s ‘The Society of Spectacle’ and Theodor Adorno’s ‘Aesthetic Theory’ but moves significantly beyond their Marxist perspectives that were, from Ellul’s view, co-opted by technique.”

Item details

Author(s):
Jacques Ellul
Condition:
Fine
Dimensions:
220 x 265 mm
Edition:
2014
Format:
Hardback
ISBN-13:
9781906506407
Number of pages:
168
Publisher:
Papadakis Publisher, Winterbourne,
Title:
The Empire of Non-sense: Art in the Technological Society

Standard UK Delivery (£3.95 per order)

Delivery FAQs

Ts & Cs
Delivery FAQs

Free returns

within 28 days.
Returns policy

About this item

The Empire of Non-sense: Art in the Technological Society
Jacques Ellul
Introductory essays by Samir Younes & David Lovekin
Translated by Michael Johnson & David Lovekin

Papadakis Publisher, Winterbourne, 2014.
English edition first published in 2014 by Papadakis Publisher. Originally published as “L’empire du non-sens” Presses Universitaires de France 1980.

Hardback; 220 x 265 mm; unglazed pictorial boards; 168 pages; printed on good quality glossy paper. No dust jacket.
The book is in fine condition.

“Translated into English for the first time, Jacques Ellul’s ground-breaking ‘Empire of Non-Sense’ analyses the relation between technology, art, rationality and human freedom. Many modern artists and architects continue to imagine and build the world technologically. Their beliefs remain firmly rooted in their assumption that the liberating forces of technology freed them from previous artistic traditions while making available vast means of production and a plethora of materials. All artistic traditions were seemingly put aside by the paintings of Cézanne, the poetry of Baudelaire and the architecture of Le Corbusier. Behind this apparent freedom French critic Jacques Ellul, author of the classic ‘The Technological Society’, found an absolute slavery. The artist was the handmaiden of technology, a relation the artist no longer understood, like other citizens of technological culture. Artists acclaimed their unbridled individualism while being intensely determined by the forces of technological culture. Ellul examines this process in modern art from the beginning of the 20th century where the sense of art its meaning and embodiments is reduced to non-sense. Ellul’s study is in the tradition of Guy Debord’s ‘The Society of Spectacle’ and Theodor Adorno’s ‘Aesthetic Theory’ but moves significantly beyond their Marxist perspectives that were, from Ellul’s view, co-opted by technique.”

Author(s):
Jacques Ellul
Condition:
Fine
Dimensions:
220 x 265 mm
Edition:
2014
Format:
Hardback
ISBN-13:
9781906506407
Number of pages:
168
Publisher:
Papadakis Publisher, Winterbourne,
Title:
The Empire of Non-sense: Art in the Technological Society

Delivery & returns

This item will be dispatched to UK addresses via second class post within 2 working days of receipt of your order. Standard UK delivery is £3.95 per order, so you're only charged once no matter how many items you have in your basket. Any additional courier charges will be applied at checkout as they vary depending on delivery address.

This item will be dispatched to UK addresses via second class post within 2 working days of receipt of your order. Standard UK delivery is currently free, no matter how many items you have in your basket. Any additional courier charges will be applied at checkout as they vary depending on delivery address.

You can find out more about delivery and returns in our help section.

We offer a no quibble returns policy as follows:

Wedding dresses: 28 days

Overseas returns: 31 days

Everything else: 28 days


This item is also available for international delivery by airmail, carrying a mandatory delivery charge of:

Europe: £8.00

Outside Europe: £15.00

Volunteer listed

Wonder how this unique item ended up online?

Most of the second-hand items you see online have been donated, by supporters like you, to our high street stores. Each item is then priced, photographed and listed on this site by our amazing team of volunteers from across the country.

After you have bought your item, our team of volunteers package and dispatch it from the Shop straight to you or your chosen recipient.

All profits from the sales of our goods go towards funding Oxfam's work around the world. We rely on your donations to sell online so please keep the cycle of goodness going!

To find out more about volunteering with Oxfam, please visit our how to volunteer page.

Oxfam Bookshop Keynsham

Our shop is a welcoming place where you can find a wide selection of books, from modern fiction and leisure interest to more specialist subjects, classics, and rare or collectable books.

We also sell a great range of donated vinyl, CD and sheet music and DVDs, as well as a selection of Fairtrade food, gifts and greetings cards.  You'll find something for everyone!


View Shop